The Drugging of Our Children

After hearing about the Newton tragedy I was shocked, in disbelief, I couldn’t believe a man had gone into a school and shot a bunch of little kids. So heartless, so tragic I still don’t even have the words………

158425155.jpg.CROP.rectangle3-large

One thing I immediately thought about was something I’m sure most people don’t think of. What kind of drugs was he on? I don’t mean weed, or meth but prescribed drugs. Drugs that he had to go to a doctor to get. This is what I want to know. I know most people are begging the government to come and take away everyone’s guns, I think it would have happened one way or another even if he didn’t have access to a gun. I am not going to talk about gun control here.

columbine

On April 20, 1999,  in Columbine CO, 12 people were murdered by their classmates Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold,  I was 20 when that shooting took place, and I remember thinking OMG could things get any worse? I was soon to find out that yes, they could get worse. How horrible, after the shooting the media did what the media does best, they talked about bullying, guns etc

Very few, or very few that I can remember were talking about the fact that one of the gunman was on a very powerful psychotropic medication. The drug he was taking is called Luvox, Luvox is an anti=depressant and used in older people it hasn’t shown as much of an increase in suicide/violent behavior.

According to their page on Rx List, there were 14 additional cases of suicide in patients under the age of 18, and 5 additional case in patients 18-24. One psychiatrist Peter Breggin said that that the medication could have caused him to experience  loss of remorse, increase in his aggression, depersonalization and mania! The drug companies don’t want you to know this, they will gladly call him a quack. The page does go on to say, that no “bad” side effects were proven in trials in children, however they also have the suicide numbers, and then the threat of violent behavior!!!

I’ve been watching documentaries about the drugs we give to our kids, and every time I watch a new one I’m left with a similar state of shock and disbelief! Every year we break new records with how many and how powerful the drugs we give our kids. My MIL has a grandson that she is raising, when he was little we were in Alabama after hurricane Katrina and I remember there were times I wanted to hurt that little boy!! He was bad, he was really bad!! One day in the living room at his Uncle’s house he said to my hubby, he was 4 I think “I kill you, and I cut you head off!!” Everyone was shocked, but life went on.

We came home and he went to school here, they have diagnosed him with ADHD, he has medication he needs to take everyday. It does help him, I haven’t wanted to hurt him in a long time 🙂 LOL He needs to take his medication everyday, well that is everyday his mother doesn’t steal his pills. I am not really sure who the pills help, I do know my MIL couldn’t raise him without the help of the pills, he would be impossible to deal with without them. I do sometimes worry about him and the effects the meds are having on his growing brain. My MIL has already raised two kids, she and her hubby are supposed to be on a tour of the lighthouses of America right now, she shouldn’t have to deal with this!

He has a younger brother different mom, same dad who is also on meds. I worry about them both! What kind of affect will these drugs, which interfere with their normal brain process will have on them when they grow up? That we don’t know, we will not know that until they do indeed grow up.

One documentary I was watching showed a commercial for some kind of anti-depressant it was aimed at kids, in the commercial the kid’s friend moved away and then the kid was sad. He went to the doctor who gave him meds and he was all fixed up!! Well that is a normal part of childhood!! Friends move, people/pets die, what does it say about US that we decide to throw pills at the problem, rather than to teach the child that these things happen, and teach them how to deal with it when it does? Is it a coincidence that since the drugging of our kids that mass murders have gone up? Kids brains are still growing, they are still developing, what does a drug that HAS NEVER BEEN TESTED ON A CHILD do to their brain? I think we are playing a deadly game here, and unfortunately the ones we are hurting are our children. These drugs the anti-depressants have never been studied on children, they have never been tested on children and when they have been it has shown a significant increase in the violence/suicide these kids experience.

When I was in school, nobody in my class was on medication, I am only 33!! Well soon to be 34, but nobody was on ADHD medication, anti-depressants, psychotropic medication back then, and nobody committed these horrible crimes back then either!!

Generation RX is a great film, made by people who see this connection with prescribed drugs and mass killings I highly recommend!! This is a Netflix link, but I have watched this movie twice now and it is great, and really makes you think!!

Another good documentary about prescribed drugs is one that was on PBS, I watched this on Netflix also….. so will give you the Netflix link here, but I’m sure you could find it elsewhere.  It is called Frontline: The Medicated Child it is about a few children who have been medicated pretty much their whole lives. One little boy they keep upping his meds, again I’m not sure who this medicating our kids is supposed to be helping. It doesn’t draw any kind of parallels between violent behavior and meds, but it is something that can’t be ignored!

This next one I haven’t watched all of, I tried to but I fell asleep LOL anyway it was pretty good the parts that I did see, I will watch again, sometime when I am more aware!! 🙂

The Drugging of Our Children

I’ve seen twitter arguments over gun control, I’ve seen people say if they didn’t have access to guns this never would have happened. I will not argue with anyone but do want to say, a homicidal person will find a way to commit murder if he wants to murder, guns are easy they don’t put you in close contact and they are basically an easy kill option. I think Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold would have murdered people whether they had access to guns or not. There was also an assault weapon ban back then, they still got the guns and they still murdered innocent people. Guns don’t kill, people do ………….. 😦

Here are a few of the many, and I mean MANY cases I’ve come across, as I was researching this…… this is too many!!!

~Drugging our Kids~

James Holmes, the Aurora shooting “suspect” had prescription bottles seized from his home after he went into the theater and killed 12 people and wounded 70 others! The Denver Post reported this earlier this week:

CENTENNIAL — Aurora police seized four prescription bottles and immunization records when they searched theater-shooting suspect James Holmes’ apartment in July, according to newly obtained filings in the murder case against Holmes.

The disclosures come in a back-and-forth between prosecutors and defense attorneys over whether those items should be subject to doctor-patient confidentiality. The judge ultimately ruled in October that prosecutors could keep the items.

The documents — many of which are heavily redacted — do not reveal what prescriptions the bottles were for or whether prosecutors intend to use them as evidence.
Patrick Purdy in 1989 killed 5 school children and wounded 30 others, he was also on prescription medication at the time of the murder.  He was on anti-depressant Amitriptyline, and anti-psychotic drug Thorzine

Kip Kinkel, in May 1998 at the age of 15 he killed his parents then went to school at Thurston High School in Oregon and killed 2 students and left 25 others wounded. He was on Prozac and Ritalin. He is currently in prison on an 111 year sentence, without parole.

Mathew Beck, know as the “lottery shooter”, in May of 1998 he killed 4 people including himself, at the lottery headquarters in Connecticut, he was on three different psychiatric medications.  I can’t find any information concerning the drugs he was prescribed but have read he was prescribed three different drugs.
Brynn Hartman, murdered her husband Phil Hartman while he slept, on May 28, 1998, she was on Zoloft.
Steve Allen Abrams, was on Lithium when he purposefully drove his car into a playground at a nursery school, killing 2 children and injuring, 2 other children and a teacher’s aide.

Laurie Dann, was 40 when she walked into a classroom of 2nd graders and started shooting, killing 1 of them, and wounding two others, then she took a family hostage and killed the man, in total she murdered 1 child and wounded 5 others before taking her own life, she was on Lithium and Anafril.

Kenneth Seguin, was on Prozac before he killed his two children and then murdered his wife, in April, 1992.

Bradd Pruitt, fatally stabbed his grandparents in 1995, he was only 16 and also on Prozac.

Seung-Hui Cho, the man who commited the Vigina Tech Massacre on April 16, 2007, he killed 32 people and wounded 17 others was also on psychiatric drugs!!!

James Wilson, a 19 year old opened fire at an elementary school killing two 8 year old girls and wounding 7 others, he had been on a combo of Xanax, Valium, Thorazine, and 2 other psychiatric medications!!

Steve Leith, of Chelsea, Michigan walked into the school he taught at and murdered the superintendent, he was also on Prozac.

Tommy Becton a 10 year old, in 1996 aimed a shotgun at a sheriff’s officer, who was accompanying a truant officer, and grabbed his 3 year old niece and pulled her in front of him, as a shield, after he was put on Prozac.

Joseph T. WesBecker only a month after starting his medication on Prozac killed, 9 of his coworkers and wounded 11 others, Eli Lily the makers of Prozac later settled a lawsuit of behalf of the survivors.

Michael Carneal 14 years old, opened fire at a prayer meeting at Heath High in West Paducah, Kentucky, killing 3 people and paralyzing one person, He was on Ritalin

Andrew Golden 11 and Mitchell Johnson 13, in 1998, faked a fire at Westside Middle School, in Jonesboro, Arkansas, they then shot at people as they tried to flee, they killed 3 students and a teacher, they are believed to have been on Ritalin.

Shawn Cooper 15 took a shotgun to school and injured one person he had been taking Ritalin.

Todd Smith, 1999  had had a phone call with a psychiatrist he had been prescribed a medication based on his 5 minute phone call with him, he then walked into a high school in Taber, Alberta, Canada, and killed one student and injured another.

Elizabeth Bush was 14 when she shot and wounded another student at Bishop Neumann High, in Williamsport Pennsylvania. She was also on Prozac.

Jason Hoffman was 18 when he brought a gun to school and wounded two teachers at Granite Hills High School, in Claifornia. He was on Effexor and Celexa both of these anti-depressants.

Bartley James Dobben, In 1987  he was a father who is accused of killing his two children by throwing them into a 1,300-degree foundry ladle!! He has been on a “regimen” of anti-psychotic drugs.

Find A Case

Barbara Mortenson, in 1991 she cannibalized her 87 year old mother, she was 61 and had been taking Prozac for a week.

Lynnwood Drake III, in 1992 shot and killed 6 people San Luis Obispo California, he was on Prozac and Valium 

Cory Baadsgaard, 16, took a rifle to school and held 6 classmates hostage, he was on Paxil and Effexor.

Mamoru Takuma,  32 in Tokyo, in 2001, went into a 2nd grade classroom, he stabbed  many and killed 8, he had taken 10 times his normal dosage of anti-depressants.

William Cruse killed 6 people in Palm Ba, Florida after being on several psychiatric drug for several year.

Duane Morrison,  63 shot and killed a girl outside Platte Canyon High School, in Colorado in 2006, anti-depressants were found in his vehicle.

Donald Schnell 60, only 38 hours after taking the drug Paxil went into a rage and killed his wife, daughter and granddaughter. In 1998  GlaxoSmithKline makers of Paxil, were ordered to pay 6.4 million dollars to the surviving family members.

Kurt Danysh was 18 when he shot his father to death. This was just 17 days after his first dose of Prozac,  later he desrcibes how he didn;t realize what he was doing! Very interesting!

Kurt Danhsh

I didn’t realize I did it until after it was done, and then I realized it.  This might sound weird, but it felt like I was left there holding a gun.”

The Pharmaceutical Tragedy of Kurt Danhsh

Dr. Debora Green set her house on fire in 1995, killing her two children, ages 6 and 13 …… she was on four medications including Prozac

Jeff Weise a Native American, was 16 he  lived on the Red Lake Indian Reservation in Minnesota, was taking the drug Prozac before he killed 9 people and wounded 5 others before committing suicide.

Victor Brancaccio 16, attacked and killed an 81 year old woman, he then covered her in red paint, he had been taking Zoloft for 2 months.

 Rod Mathews 14 beat a classmate to death with a bat, he was on Ritalin.

Wow!!!! I think I am finally finished!!! No, I know I am not 😦 I know that you guys can and will find other murderers on anti-psychotic, psychotropic medications, there are many many, MANY more cases I can’t write about them all here, but there are many more!!

When will we as American’s stand up and say enough is enough!!! Don’t drug our kids, no more!!!! I have a feeling that will never happen, as we live in a too fast paced world, people need to get on with things, instead maybe they need to focus on their kids and not throw pills at them. 😦  How many more children will we see die as a result of prescribed drugs in our schools? Which BTW are drug free zones!!!!!!! I don’t know the answer to this, but I really do believe this is the cause of all of the mass shooting we have seen.

I also want to say thanks to the many, many sites I got this information from, I couldn’t include all of you, I can’t even remember!! LOL
😦